Tiago Pires Wins Islas Canarias Santa Pro. Congrats!

SAN JUAN, Lanzarote/Canary Islands – Tiago Pires (PRT) 32, has won the ASP 6-Star Islas Canarias Santa Pro today in shifting 2-3Ft waves at the main break of San Juan, Lanzarote in the Canary Islands. Pires’ victory over Gabe Kling (USA) 32, in an exciting final sees him claim an important 3,500 ranking points and the $25,000 check. Marlon Lipke (DEU) was crowned the 2012 European Champion as well today, marking the end of a prosperous season for the German surfer.

Tiago Pires’ road to victory in Lanzarote was no walk in the park, but rather a difficult trail where he had to overcome multiple obstacles including Brazil’s Willian Cardoso and a handful of in-form European up-and-comers. In a breathtaking final, both surfers got back-to-back rides and tried to keep busy and build momentum but ultimately it was ‘Saca’ who took command of the heat and imposed his backhand attack to come out with the win.

“I feel amazing, it’s been a few years since I’ve won an event and I haven’t felt the rush of adrenalin you get when winning for a while now,” Pires stated. “I was really sad with my performance in the European leg, I’ve been struggling on the last few CT events and I just came here to get some points and work on my Star rankings. It’s been a very tough event with many guys shredding and I didn’t see myself make the final, but things got together for me and I felt better and better throughout the event with the semifinal being my peak performance. I was scared of Gabe cause he’s a really good competitor, he’s won events and I knew it was going to be a hard one!”

 

 

Categorías: Surf | Deja un comentario

Navegador de artículos

Responder

Crea un blog o un sitio web gratuitos con WordPress.com.

